Non-Proliferation Treaty and Article VI

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) is a landmark international treaty whose objective is to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons and weapons technology, promote cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and further the goal of achieving nuclear disarmament and general and complete disarmament. The treaty represents the only binding commitment in a multilateral treaty to the goal of disarmament by the nuclear-weapon states. It entered into force in 1970 and was extended indefinitely in 1995. Currently, a total of 191 states have joined the NPT, including five nuclearweapon states, which means that more countries have ratified the NPT than any other arms limitation and disarmament agreement.

Article VI of the treaty states that "Each of the Parties to the Treaty undertakes to pursue negotiations in good faith on effective measures relating to cessation of the nuclear arms race at an early date and to nuclear disarmament, and on a treaty on general and complete disarmament under strict and effective international control."