header

最新消息

rss

RSS

Loading
a+ a- print

SGI President Daisaku Ikeda

和平最終不是由政治家簽署條約所實現的。唯有在世界民眾之間,建立信賴及友情,才能落實真正恆久的和平。唯在坦懷相待的情況下,人心方能凝聚。這就是對話的力量。1

生於1928年的池田大作,為打造一個歷久彌堅的和平文化根基,努力至今超過半個世紀。

池田長年推進民間外交,以期瓦解猜忌及不信任的鐵壁銅牆,年年撰寫《和平倡言》,針對各項全球問題提出解決方案,鍥而不捨地呼籲廢除核武器。此外,他成立了數個推廣和平、人本教育、文化交流等的機構,並會見世界各地領導人、文化界代表及學者,討論如何解決人類共同面臨的挑戰,與其中70多位有識之士的對話被付梓成書,內容探索當今社會的重大課題。

池田作為國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱:SGI)此擁有1千2百萬名會員的佛教團體之會長,他的動力來自他對每個人擁有的無上尊嚴、價值及潛力所抱持的信念。詳情請見:http://www.sgi.org/cht/

池田為和平奔走的起點,始於他在第二次世界大戰中度過的少年時期,那段經歷,令池田痛恨戰爭,使他把核武器視為「絕對的惡」。

尤其從1970年代後期,即冷戰形勢最為緊張之際起,池田更灌注全力,推動核武器的廢除。1975和1998年,池田分別發起了兩次主張廢除核武器的署名活動,蒐集到超過1千萬個簽名。1978、1982及1988年,在聯合國大會裁軍問題特別會議舉辦之際,他都呈遞倡言至該會議。他也在其始於1983年的年度《和平倡言》中,持續探討各種廢除核武器的可行方案。

1982年,為了應對冷戰緊張局勢連連高漲的情況,池田提議舉辦「核武器──對現代世界的威脅」展。該展展出的第一站為紐約聯合國總部,之後巡迴世界各地,包括蘇聯、中國、美國、法國等,前後共有1百20萬人觀展。2007年,池田又發起SGI的「廢除核武器民眾行動十年」計畫。

在池田的提倡下,SGI長期支持聯合國難民事務高級專員辦事處的人道救援活動。自1973至2001年,隨著亞洲和非洲流離失所人口的增加,日本創價學會青年會員前後策畫了21項募款活動,共籌得約1億4千萬日幣(折合約美金1百38萬元),幫助該高級專員辦事處的救援難民行動。SGI代表也考察過15個地方的難民營。

池田在1983年獲頒聯合國和平勳章,在1989年又獲頒聯合國難民事務高級專員署人道獎。

為響應2002年的可持續發展世界首腦會議及2012年里約+20會議,池田分別發表倡言以推廣可持續發展教育。另外,他在其年度《和平倡言》、對話錄及其他作品中,時常討論人權及其他人道問題,啟迪SGI去推進相關的公眾教育活動。這些以民間社會立場倡導的活動包含展覽、DVD、講座、專題演講等,許多時候是與聯合國的機構或志同道合的非政府組織合作下進行。

池田的另一個行動領域,是與在歷史上受盡紛爭及衝突之苦的國家,建立友好信賴與文化交流。他竭盡所能修復日本和其鄰國的關係,促進亞洲友好。在他看來,日本必須坦率地面對歷史,承認在二戰期間曾侵略他國導致生靈塗炭,他自己親自一再為此道歉。而且,池田也極力將戰爭的恐怖和無謂傳達給青年。

池田期盼亞洲國泰平安的熱切願望,促使他在1968年,當中國仍被國際社會孤立的時候,大聲疾呼日中邦交正常化。接著在1974年,當中蘇關係緊張到武裝衝突一觸即發的地步時,池田以一介平民身分,會晤雙方領導人,進行對話,竭力扭轉當時的嚴峻形勢。

池田與上千名有識之士進行過對談,這些人分別是人文、政治、經濟、科學、文化、宗教、藝術等各個領域的權威,包括:奧雷利奧‧貝恰(Aurelio Peccei)、佩雷斯‧埃斯基維爾(Adolfo Perez Esquivel)、約瑟夫‧羅特布拉特(Joseph Rotblat)、納爾遜‧曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)、戈爾巴喬夫(Mikhail Gorbachev)、旺加里‧馬塔伊(Wangari Maathai)、羅莎‧帕克斯(Rosa Parks)。對話主題涉及人類面臨的重大問題,從衝突到環境退化、宗教、社會改革,內容包羅萬象。

池田也成立了推進音樂與文化交流的民主音樂協會、東京富士美術館、波士頓21世紀研究中心(後改稱:池田和平、教育、對話中心)、戶田紀念國際和平研究所、於日本和巴西的創價學園、於日本和美國的創價大學、於世界六處的創價幼稚園。他期待這些機構能在不同民族之間,建立起信賴的橋樑。池田確信,如此人與人之間的紐帶,不僅能深化人們對多樣性的尊重,也能使人們再次確認彼此共通的人性,進而成為鞏固和平的一股力量。

池田時常倡導「全球公民」此理念。在他眼裡,「全球公民」是一種志願去造福社會的責任感,而該責任感源自於佛法的慈悲、利他精神。因此,他灌注心血,鼓勵青年要帶領世界往一個更光明、更正面的方向前進。

a+ a- print
SGI President Daisaku Ikeda

“In the end, peace will not be realized by politicians signing treaties. True and lasting peace will only be realized by forging life-to-life bonds of trust and friendship among the world's people. Human solidarity is built by opening our hearts to each other. This is the power of dialogue.” 1

Daisaku Ikeda (1928– ) has dedicated himself to bolstering the foundations of a lasting culture of peace for over 50 years.

He has engaged in persistent citizen diplomacy in order to break down walls of mistrust, authored annual peace proposals suggesting ways of resolving global problems and tirelessly called for the abolition of nuclear weapons. As well as founding substantial institutions promoting peace, humanistic education and cultural exchange, he has met with key leaders, cultural figures and scholars from every region of the world to discuss ways of resolving the common challenges facing humanity. He has published dialogues probing the crucial issues of our time with over 70 such individuals.

As president of the 12-million-member Soka Gakkai International (SGI) Buddhist association, Ikeda’s engagement is sustained by his belief in the dignity and supreme value of life and the creative potential of every individual. [www.sgi.org]

Ikeda’s commitment to peace grows from his experience as a young teenager during World War II, which led him to develop a strong aversion to war and the conviction that nuclear weapons are an absolute evil.

He has been particularly dedicated to the abolition of nuclear weapons since the escalation of Cold War tensions in the late 1970s. In 1975 and 1998, he initiated campaigns that gathered over 10 million signatures for nuclear abolition, and he submitted proposals to the three UN General Assembly Special Sessions on Disarmament in 1978, 1982 and 1988. He has continued to explore viable routes toward nuclear abolition in his peace proposals, published annually since 1983.

In 1982, in response to mounting Cold War tensions, Ikeda proposed the creation of the exhibition “Nuclear Arms: Threat to Our World,” which was first shown at the United Nations Headquarters in New York before touring internationally, including nuclear-weapon states of the former Soviet Union, China, the United States and France, and viewed by 1.2 million visitors. In 2007, he initiated the SGI’s People’s Decade for Nuclear Abolition campaign.

At his suggestion, the SGI has supported refugee relief efforts through the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). From 1973–2001, with the rise in displaced persons in Asia and Africa, SGI youth in Japan led 21 donation collection campaigns in support of refugee relief, collecting some 1.4 billion yen that was donated to the UNHCR. Representatives also visited refugee camps in some 15 locations.

For his leadership of such efforts, Ikeda received the UN Peace Medal in 1983 and the UNHCR Humanitarian Award in 1989.

In 2002 and 2012, coinciding with the World Summit on Sustainable Development and the Rio+20 Conference, respectively, he published proposals for the promotion of education for sustainable development. Further, he has addressed human rights and humanitarian issues in his annual peace proposals, published dialogues and other writings, and inspired SGI public education initiatives on these themes. Such civil society initiatives include exhibitions, DVDs and lecture and seminar series, often in collaboration with UN agencies and like-minded NGOs.

A further facet of his engagement has been his effort to build trust and foster cultural exchange in contexts of historical division and conflict. In particular, he has worked to heal relations between Japan and its Asian neighbors based on an honest view of history, recognizing and offering his own apologies for the suffering caused by Japan’s wartime aggression. He has also endeavored to share with young people the horror and futility of war.

Ikeda’s desire to ensure the stability of Asia led him to reach out to China when the country was isolated, calling for normalization of diplomatic relations between China and Japan in 1968. Then, in 1974, when Sino–Russian tensions escalated into a threat of military confrontation, he traveled to meet and engage in dialogue with the leaders of those countries as a private citizen, contributing to the de-escalation.

Ikeda has engaged in discussion with thousands of individuals—leading figures from around the world in the humanities, politics, economics, sciences, culture, religion and the arts—on fundamental issues confronting humanity, from conflict to environmental degradation, the role of religion and social change. His dialogue partners have included Aurelio Peccei, Adolfo Pérez Esquivel, Joseph Rotblat, Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, Wangari Maathai and Rosa Parks.

He has also founded institutions dedicated to building bridges of trust between the peoples of the world, with belief that such people-to-people ties cultivate respect for diversity and enable us to reaffirm our common humanity, thus contributing to laying the foundations of peace. These include the Min-On Concert Association (music and cultural exchange), the Tokyo Fuji Art Museum, the Boston Research Center for the 21st Century (later renamed the Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning, and Dialogue) and the Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research. Ikeda has also founded the Soka Schools system in Japan and Brazil, Soka University in Japan and the USA, and Soka kindergartens in six countries.

Many of Ikeda’s initiatives promote the ideal of global citizenship—an ethic of social responsibility rooted in Buddhist values of compassion and working for the happiness of others—and he has directed his energies toward encouraging youth to take the lead in establishing a more hopeful and positive direction for global society.